Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default (Artemis) Open source considerations

Well, as Project Artemis is going to be open source, there are many considerations we have to make. Obviously, throwing together code snippets from various sources is not going to work (even with a version control system). The whole project must be maintained in an efficient way.

I'm not an expert in managing open source projects. Most of the things I know about it have their origin in the Linux kernel. If somebody has got experience on the subject, feel free to give your comments here.

The first thing I'd like to talk about is licensing. Which free software license are we going to use for Artemis? I think this is a good question to start with.
    Last edited by misfire; 08-15-2008 at 07:56:20 AM.

Yes, we need to set up a SVN repository, on the double

I think AFL would be a good route, and would follow suit of most of the other PS2 homebrew projects.
    I may be lazy, but I can...zzzZZZzzzZZZzzzZZZ...

I'm not sure if we should use AFL as it allows our software to be made proprietary. I'd prefer a strong copyleft license like the GPL. The final decison surely depends on the license terms of other source code we gonna use. (We should create a list.)

Besides the license, the version control system we gonna use is one of the other points we have to discuss. I'm in favor of Mercurial with its decentralized system. I'm using it at work and I really like it.

Have a read: Mercurial compared with other tools

Can we make parts of the project source fall under one license, and other parts fall under other licenses? For example, can we allow our original source to fall under GPL, but ensure snippets of source from others' work fall under their appropriate licenses? This composite approach might work well...

Mercurial at least purports to be superior, and makes some decent arguments. Taking a look, it appears to be a decent system: http://www.formulacompiler.org/hg/